I Am Only One!

Standard

2 Chronicles 7 14

 

I have been reading Nehemiah for the last few days in my quiet time. Just to give you some background, if you have never met him, Nehemiah was a captive in Babylon. He was the cup bearer for King Artaxerxes. There had been two returns to Jerusalem, Zerubbabel and Ezra. The exiled Jews were allowed to return home. The first two groups had gone back to rebuild the Temple. (Jerusalem was in such disrepair it made them weep.) Well, Nehemiah is working for the King and his friend returns from Jerusalem and tells him what a mess the city is and the people that have gone back are so overwhelmed they have stopped moving forward and the walls around the city are so broken down a fox could jump over them. (walls were very important back then, for protection from warring tribes)

Nehemiah has never been to Jerusalem he only knows that is where his ancestors were from. He has a great job and the King and he get along well, does he want to get involved in this? He is only one person what could he possibly do? The King notices that Nehemiah is sad.(not a good thing to be around the King as you could be executed for being sad.)
They get to talking and Nehemiah shares why he is so sad. His hometown is unprotected as the walls are all broken down. King says what can I do to help?

To make a short story a little shorter the King helps out with all kinds of things. You really need to read this story if you haven’t. Anyway, Nehemiah was only one person but with God, all things are possible. What couldn’t get done in 13 years was done in 52 days! Yep you read right 52 days. Nehemiah didn’t just jump right in and ask the King for his help. He prayed. God moved in and what a miracle was done by one man’s desire to see Jerusalem put back together.

This past week has been very sad and distressful to see all the hate, anger, and sorrow of our brothers and sisters right here in America. I have felt so helpless. What can one person do? It is just too huge to make a difference. Then I thought of Nehemiah. (no I am not going to see about building  a wall) If he had thought the same way I was feeling he would never have sought God and there would not have been a wall finished by him. I think that we need to go to God and seek his plan. We know he has a plan! He is ready to listen to his children as they cry out to  him and seek his will.

“Then if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land.”  2 Chronicles 7:14

I am going to daily pray that God will hear our cry and heal this land. Please join me. God, you and I make an unbeatable team!

Leave a Reply

