#The One

Standard

one-6

I don’t mind saying things in this worlds are moving way to fast for this girl! I know people (older)say, “I remember when. . . “and they let you know how they remember the past. Sometimes it has some “tint’ thrown in. Perhaps rose color. But it is so hard to keep up.

No wonder the younger set have some device in their hands, phone, notebook isomething or other. They are trying to KEEP UP!

When I was young (get ready) there were no cell phones. I know gasp, right! The only things we had in our hands were, baseball, bike, basketball.

We even looked at each other. At the dinner table we would actually have a conversation that usually broke out into laughter about something that happened to one of us that day,

My husband and I have “date day” every Saturday. This past Saturday we saw a dad with his 3 boys sharing a meal. (I think “sharing” might be a huge stretch) Dad was talking on his phone the entire time. (I not kidding!) The oldest son, probable 13ish, was in his cell phone the entire time. The 10ish boy, had his cell phone and was playing a game. Even the little guy 5ish, had some sort of game device. They shared not a word between them. The dad only spoke to the waiter to complain about his meal.

How sad to have wasted such an opportunity with his children! He could have had a great time with his 3 boys, maybe got to know just what they were feeling or worried about.

I try to  stay current in this fast paced world. I have: email, Facebook, Twitter, Blog, Pintrest, Instagram. Yikes!! How do folks keep up with all of this and have time for family and friends you actually see face to face? I have these so I can do this 31 day challenge. Come November 1st, I will go back to the bare minimum to keep track of friends that I have moved away from due to relocation.

I guess if I was to use Twitter, which seems to have a limit as to how many characters you can use. I might tweet(makes me laugh just to say that) #Jesus, or maybe #The One. I still haven’t figured out what to do with hashtag. Guess I need another class.

I am so glad that Jesus never changes! He is OK with slowing down and speaking to us as we grow quiet. His love is never ending! You can know him when you are young and as you grow old He is still the same God. He is always there to listen to you like you were the only one in the world. He is never in a rush, or tweeting or texting. He doesn’t need to rush you to finish his blog! He loves you and wants to spend time with you.

Steven Curtis Chapman’s “One True God” reminds us, Jesus is the same and he reigns forever!

Slow down, close your eyes, and listen.

Maybe shut down one device and spend time with, the ONE TRUE GOD. Find a real live person and spend some time just sharing your heart with them.

Enjoy their company!

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “#The One

  1. Tammy

    In my opinion people take it all for granted …. And when it’s gone or out of reach for me it’s terrible :-/ I’d much rather sneak away for a really early breakfast and laugh and SEE you FEEL your hugs than email or text :-/ yep way to fast way to impersonal …..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m learning more and more I don’t want to care about keeping up. I want to have those real conversations around the dinner table. I want to play basketball with my kids. I want to love well. And I want to slow down. Thank you for the reminder! And for all the social media craze – it’s insane. There’s no way to keep up without being glued to a phone constantly. Also, many of the big authors we see present in all of these spaces have teams of people that help them with all of the management of social media. It’s unrealistic for a person on their own to do all of them and do them well. No thank you!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

