The Sparrow Knows. Do You?

Standard

sparrow-17

As I sit in the hospital waiting for my husband, the words of Jason Gray’s song, Sparrow plays in my head. Listen to the hope filled words.

The words, “There’s not a single star that’s out of place, nothing broken He can’t remake” tumble around in my head and I remember 4 years ago.

We had just retired and we were looking forward to traveling in our motor home and doing fun jobs to supplement our fixed income. We pretty much had things planned out.

Things never seem to go quite as planned do they? My husband started to notice a slight weakness, but we are both getting older, right? Not long after this we were coming home early as he was very tired. We got to our front door and he went up the first of three steps, turned to me with slight panic and said, “I can’t go any farther!” To say I felt some panic is an understatement! I wasn’t strong enough to carry him up 2 more stairs.

Our brand new neighbor saw us and ran over to grab my husband’s belt and picked him up and helped him to a chair in our little home.

After a few doctor appointments and a barrage of tests they came up with a diagnosis, Gillian-Barre’. It is not “fixable” for him but they have made it livable.

We go to the hospital 2 days a month. The treatments help him to continue to live a fairly active life.

Through all of this we could have given up, asked God, “Where are you?”, or worried ourselves into a state, BUT GOD, (don’t you love those two words?) was in this with us and we were not going to give in to self pity.

Worry really does nothing for you, You can play that “what if” game all day but that let’s trouble win. We went to our church family (very new church family I might add) and asked for prayer God was in the whole deal with us.

If you have planned things out and all of a sudden there is a wrench thrown into the works, don’t let the trouble win!

God is right there with you. “He holds the world and he can most certainly hold this moment!”

“Look at the Sparrow.”

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “The Sparrow Knows. Do You?

  1. Wow I had no idea about this part of your story. I love this song and I will be thinking and praying for you every time I hear it. Also makes me think about the old song we sing sometimes in church – His eye is on the Sparrow and I know He watches me. I sing because I’m happy. I sing because I’m free. His eye is on the Sparrow. And I know He watches me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

