Now Where?

Standard

escape-9When I was in the 7th grade there was a class that I had to take called, “The New Math”. I didn’t get along with the old math so well, so to enter this class was very terrifying for me. Just the word math can get my palms to sweat. Can anyone relate?

In this class the teacher, who had a pocket protector and had his chalk in a metal tube, would put equations on the board and then he would turn to the class and say, “don’t you see?” Well for the longest time I just sat there and in my head was saying, “NO, I don’t see!” We tried to learn base 10, base 2 and so many other crazy things. UGH! what a horrific year.

However, now that I have had lots of time to study, and also teach this subject, it is making sense to me. It took a great deal of time and lots of effort on my part to make math fun and try to explain it in a new and different way to my students. I never used the words, “don’t you see” though. I was able to recognize that look on the faces of my students that no, indeed, they did not see.

Lately I have been going through a study with a few women on our “Identity In Christ”, and just before that we had study Proverbs. Proverbs talks a lot about wisdom and how to get it. (don’t you see?) It is amazing me how all these things are coming together. I know you are one of those who really “does see”. It has just taken me a bit longer.

Things like what I read today, God provides a way out of temptations. Just like the door in the picture above. I have read that many times before and saw a door or a window of escape but never thought about what was on the other side. Today is dawned on me, Jesus is on the other side! Hmm.

When we are tempted to not do the right thing, or weighed down by trials to heavy for anyone to carry we need to go through that door. There is the light of the world, the way maker, the chain breaker, Jesus. He has his arms open wide.  If we will let him, he will hold us, comfort us and restore to joy.

I am not going to ask, “Don’t you see?” I am just going to invite  you to check it out for yourself. Look in the Bible and see all the ways the LORD wants to be your God and have you as his very own child. It all comes together the more you search.

Go through the door and find him.

4 thoughts on “Now Where?

  1. Michael L Wayne

    Maggie Bean, I remember that class very well. It took me almost 2 years until that light went on. And I finally saw the light on the other side of the door a few years back.
    Peace to you, my long ago friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

