Deserve

Standard

 

You deserve a “break today.”

You deserve a “get away trip to . . .”

You deserve a better insurance company.

Have you noticed that everyone is telling you what you deserve? If you watch any T.V. at all , everyone that is selling something tells you that you deserve their product.

What have I done to be worthy of , a “break today”, “a get away”, “better mortgage percentage rate”, or “a better insurance company”? They don’t even know me! How can they say I deserve anything?

I am retired, I get a break every day for goodness sake! As for a great trip to anywhere it would be such a hassle to figure out how to get up and down with the handicap I am now sporting. I deserve!

How about you? What do you deserve? What have you done lately to deserve a “break”, or to receive a “get away”. Have you solved the great mysteries of the world? Figured out how to get the earth back on even keel? I don’t know about you but I certainly don’t feel worthy, or I certainly haven’t done anything noteworthy!

When I think of what I deserve, I shutter! Things I have done or left undone, no those folks on the T.V. don’t know what I deserve.

When we read in Psalm 103:10 there is such good news. It says:

“We sinned against him, but he didn’t give us the punishment we deserved.” When we come to Christ and tell him we are sinners and we know we deserve death, (that’s what we deserve) he is FAITHFUL and  just and forgives our sins. He alone can give us the freedom we long to have. We don’t DESERVE it but by his marvelous GRACE we receive it.

The next time you hear someone tell you, you deserve . . . think about the Grace you have received instead.

Save

3 thoughts on “Deserve

  1. Tammy

    This one got me ……it’s a long the lines of “why Me?” Why NOY me!!!!! Thank you for the reflection!!!! You are loved and appreciated!!! 😊😊😊😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

